Skip to content

Books for 2012

December 5, 2011

Ok, so I somehow manage always to get to the middle and not finish my technical books. Hopefully, this year will be different. Here are my readings for 2012:

  • Finish “Object-Oriented Reengineering Patterns”
  • Finally finish “The Pragmatic Programmer” (I wonder how many times I have started this one!)
  • Get my hands on “Code Complete”
  • Finish “Effective C++”
  • Finish “More Effective C++”
  • “Effective STL”
  • Reread “The C++ Programming Language” (I think I will read this one with the whole different eye now!)
  • “Beyond the C++ Standard Library: An Introduction to Boost”
  • “Working Effectively with Legacy Code”
  • “Coders at Work”

And I think that is enough for 2012.
Here is a link to my readernaut http://readernaut.com/mykolassimutis/books/

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2012 22:56

    I run into the same problem where I start a lot of books but don’t finish them. I’m trying to give myself more focus by managing a reading list using http://trello.com/. I’ve given myself one book per month. If I finish one early enough, I can move the next one in and start on it. I think it’s already helping curb my book purchases.

    It might also be helpful to set up a goal for the book – like writing a review post or just reflecting on the book to make sure you’ve digested it.

    BTW, I ended up here through gis.stackexchange and plan to read your posts on Printing Maps with QGIS.

  2. January 7, 2012 12:54

    >It might also be helpful to set up a goal for the book – like writing a review post or just reflecting on the book to make sure you’ve digested it.
    Yeah, that’s what I actually plan to do!

    >BTW, I ended up here through gis.stackexchange and plan to read your posts on Printing Maps with QGIS.

    Great to hear it is helpful to someone 🙂

    I will be doing some GIS in my work again, and now I’ll improve mapnik plugin so anyone without any scripting/programming skills will be able to generate tiles using qgis+mapnik, of course, I will post it on GIS.SE also.

Leave a Reply

